Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
cmoore73

NPN vs. PNP

14 posts in this topic

I have been working in the automation field for the past 11 years and have heard MANY arguments both ways. I see chakorules put a post in the GE forum about using input modules: "We have our commons (for the inputs, which is NPN) ack! connected to:" Which is better and why?????? Edited by cmoore73

I like to use NPN not to say that PNP is wrong, it is just something that I was taught an stuck with it. But I look at it like this if I have limit switch that has a broken or exsposed wire it will not take out my power supply or trip a breaker as would a PNP type input that has voltage on it.