Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
jchal3

Programming issue

7 posts in this topic

Hello all, I am running a Q-series mitsubishi PLC. Here is what I am trying to accomplish: I have a drying conveyor which has product fed into it on one end by an "infeed" conveyor. When the product comes onto the drying conveyor it indexes. There is a one sensor that starts and stops the index of the drying conveyor based on the rising and falling pulse of the product coming onto the belt. On the outfeed end of the drying coveyor, the product must transfer onto an "outfeed conveyor". The problem I am having is that the indexes are not consistant enough to keep a simple one in - one out rythem going continuously. As the system runs, the index distance changes and causes the oufeed conveyor to recieve two products on one index. The conveyor motors are just normal motors, not steppers or servos. I am sure this is a problem that many poeple have faced. I am a novice programmer, and I would like to know how this problem is best solved. Thanks for the input.

No replies so far as I think you have not described your problem properly. as in Try explaining exactly what you would like the machine to do and you will get help

I've not used a Mitsi PLC in some years but the basic problem you described is filled with several areas for variation which can add up and cause the accumulated error response youa re describing. The simplest and quickest "knee jerk" solution I can suggest is take the rising edge of the product present on drying belt sensor and start a timer. Set the value of the timer as such that is moves a prodcut as far as you want plus 25 % to 50% more. have the timer timing run the drying conveyor motor. See if this doesn't resolve some of your issues. You will probably want to debounce the Photoeye also so you ignore any rising edges which occur while the motor is running.