Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
justwhy2003

Internal relay question

23 posts in this topic

Hi I know this is a total newbie question. What is the difference in using "S" internal relays or "M" internal relays? Until now ive always been using M type but ive been looking at a different programmers program and he uses M type in some places and S type in others. Both are used in the same method, i was just wondering what determines which should be used and for what reasons... Justin

There is entire chapter in the programming manual about state (STL) programming. Before you read and understand it, I strongly suggest you not to touch existing S relays and their contacts in the program neither to create new S relays. Edited by Sergei Troizky

There are strict rules governing S relays and stl programming - but only in FX models The A and Q series have S relays but these do not permit STL programming. I have often wonderd why they are there in these models - unless you want to signify a sequence and use S relays for this purpose???

ok, im working through the programming manual to try and figure out s relays. if i could just ask a few questions: these are just normal relays/contacts in the ladder logic like x, y, and m but with the s prefix. They arent special contacts? im trying to use the example application in the programming manual but Gx wont allow me to compile the [RET] command at the end of the subroutines. is this the correct function, or does return have a diffrent command that im missing? justin