Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
elem

CPM2A and inverter F7

12 posts in this topic

I am a beginner, an I want to make a Profibus system with components specified from a third party. It is shown on the picture below, but I don't know how to connect CPM2A (slave) with inverter F7. Can it be done with a simple serial connection? What do I need to establish it? Is there a function block for this (stop, start, changing speed)? It's very urgent, please help.

elem, Welcome to the forum! Based on what I found for communication protocols for the F7 inverter, I think you are going to have a tough time with serial comm using a CPM2 plc. It appears that the serial comm would probably be some form of Modbus. What about using hardwired I/O? You could use outputs to send start/stop and an analog output for speed command. However, I really do not know the details of your application. If you really want to do this with communication, you might consider a CJ1 and use protocol macros with Modbus. Hope this will help

gtsuport, thanks for welcoming me. I've just discovered this forum, hope I'll learn some usefull stuff here. This little work of mine is going to be "hanged" on a wall as a demo example. This is the first time I'm setting up a Profibus network, so I decided to make something simple for now and see if it works, and then try to make it more applicable. I personally wanted to use CJ1, but "the boss" wants CPM2A, so there is no changing the rules of the game :( Actually, I was thinking of Memobus. In User's manual for F7, there is an explanation on page 6-80. I've just found it and I'm going to read it tonight, but what I want to know is: Can I use it with CPM2A? More important question is: Is there a function block for it, so I dont need to do too much programming? (start, stop and frequency through PT) As I said I'm a total beginner