Craig McCanada

DataLamp (NA5) HMI - (NX) PLC - Sysmac

32 posts in this topic

Good morning,

I'd like to start by saying that I am new to programming, so please bare with my very simple questions.

I'm having issues trying to get a DataLamp on the HMI screen to change its behavior from lamp Off to lamp On after a specific process has been completed (not operated by a button).

Is this possible or do lamps strictly operate by using a Button?

Edited by Craig McCanada

19 minutes ago, Craig McCanada said:

Good morning,

I'd like to start by saying that I am new to programming, so please bare with my very simple questions.

I'm having issues trying to get a DataLamp on the HMI screen to change its behavior from lamp Off to lamp On after a specific process has been completed (not operated by a button).

Is this possible or do lamps strictly operate by using a Button?

Lamps operate using an expression. When the expression is true the lamp reflects the ON Color, and when the expression is false it becomes the Off Color. This expression can be any number of things but for your application you can just use the BOOL tag from your PLC.  If you have a tag in the PLC that indicates the process is complete make sure it is a Global tag and then add it to your HMI mapped variables. You can then type the name of it in the expression for the Bit Lamp.

Capture.PNG

Thanks Photozoltaic, that makes more sense than using a DataLamp.

But how would I represent that in the PLC program? As an Input function?

I'm not familiar with your program so I can't say for sure but when you toggle a bit that would be an output-type instruction (right side of the rung). There must be a section of code where you can toggle a BOOL true when the process is complete though I assume. Going to make up some logic to illustrate this - probably nothing like your program but hopefully gets the point across..

Capture.PNG

Capture2.PNG

Capture3.PNG