Bruce001

PLC Recommendations for newbie

4 posts in this topic

Dear Mr. PLC forum members,

I am brand new to the world of PLC’s and I am looking for advice on PLC platform selection for a device prototype.

The proposed PLC is for a “smart” hydroponic system. Please see system I/O and other parameters below.

Parameter 1: Price - I am self-funding this so price of PLC and software is important. Happy to spend ~$2000 for PLC; I/O cards and related hardware. Total prototype cost is around $15,000 including PLC.

Parameter 2: Availability & Support in Australia.

Parameter 3:Newbie Friendly: I intend to code the PLC myself and have never coded a thing in my life before. 

Parameter 4:Discrete Outputs: 11; Discrete Inputs: 0; Analog Outputs: 2-3; Analog Inputs: 9 

Parameter 5: Capability to extend to IOT for remote access control and monitoring (via cellular or wifi router)

As you can see, this is a relatively simple automation project. All my research seems to point to Automation Direct’s BRX PLC but I just wanted to get some suggestions and feedback before purchasing.

Anything else that might suit my needs?

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Bruce 

Welcome to MrPLC Bruce:

Being from the USA I cannot comment on parameter 2 of your request.  But I am sure members like @Sleepy Wombat will ahve input.

As far as the Automation Direct being suitable, I would think it would do the job and with knowing nothing you should be able to learn to program it.

The Rockwell Micro 800 series might also enter your consideration, but I've not had good luck with them in IIOT and SCADA environments.  As a stand alone island system they're fine.  @TimWilborne has done a lot with the Micro 800 family and can provide a positive counterpoint to my negative.

@TimWilborne although in the USA will also prove an invaluable training resource with his video series.

Again Welcome aboard Bruce. and be sure to check out our PLC Laws pamphlet.

Have a look at Omron NX102 series.