Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
paulengr

Cracks, pinholes, or dimensional data?

15 posts in this topic

I work at a foundry that makes ductile iron pipe. The product is 20 feet long and between about 8" and 30" in diameter. Right now, they visually inspect everything. The majority of the defects are easy to spot. It's laminations, chunks of slag, and such. They also do measurements for the various dimensional details. So far, I can trivially figure out how to automate getting these done. Much harder is cracks, especially hairline ones, and pinholes. The feature size is not very big so it probably takes some work to do it. This is what I know so far: Eddy current sensing apparently works. One of our competitors is using it. I have no experience however with this equipment. It detects cracks but clearly based on their product, it doesn't do a good job on pinholes. From what I know from an electrician that used to work on it, apparently the machine wasn't terribly reliable either. Keyence makes distance scanners that could easily have enough accuracy to detect pinholes and cracks, but the problem is that I'd be scanning at a resolution of a few mm at most. With a 20 foot long piece of product, at maximum scanning rates, to maintain the current production rates of roughly one piece every 20 seconds, I'd be looking at rotating it at around 600 RPM to do this cost effectively, never mind the obscene data rates....basically, it becomes unrealistic. Anyways, anyone with some experiences doing automated inspections on castings?

Personally I have zero experiencewith non-destructove testing, but are you familiar with this process: http://www.magnaflux.com/index.asp This is what engine rebuilders use to detect cracks in engine block cores, which is how I know about the process. Not sure how well it would work in your application