Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

CX-One now officially supports Windows 7!


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 PdL

PdL

    Propeller Head

  • MrPLC Admin
  • 3024 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Naarden, NL
  • Interests:Too many...
  • Country:Netherlands
    Netherlands

Posted 11 January 2010 - 06:17 AM

Courtesy of MyOmron.com:

01/04/2010 CX-One supports Windows 7

Programs included in CX-One now support Microsoft's Windows 7 operating system. The latest version of CX-One in production automatically supports Windows 7, and older versions can be updated (see How Do I Upgrade CX-One? for more information.)

For full details of Operating System support and information on any limitations see the Knowledgebase article Which Operating Systems Does CX-One Support?



Read the announcement on MyOmron.com

Well done Omron! :wacko:

#2 Sleepy Wombat

Sleepy Wombat

    Controls Engineer

  • MrPLC Admin
  • 1968 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney, NSW
  • Country:Australia
    Australia

Posted 13 January 2010 - 05:32 PM

Omron forging ahead. Software that is obviously built on a strong flexible base code that is relatively easy to maniuplate to cope with newer OS's. Now wouldn;t that be something if Omron put out a Linux version, it would certainly be a first.
www.dexa.com.au - Design Engineering Xtreme Automation - DEXA Pty Ltd ** Automating the World Around You **
www.wi-count.com.au - WI-COUNT Wireless Counting Technologies ** Wireless People Counting **





#3 sbaum

sbaum

    Sparky

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 44 posts
  • Country:Canada
    Canada

Posted 27 January 2010 - 01:58 PM

I will be all ears when Omron supports 64 bit operating systems.

#4 BobB

BobB

    BobB

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1661 posts
  • Location:Sydney Australia
  • Interests:Omron, gardening, single malt scotch (with crushed ice only) car racing, music (most kinds [no C&W please]).
  • Country:Australia
    Australia

Posted 28 January 2010 - 04:48 AM

Some claim you can run it on 64 bit in 32 bit mode anyway. And then there is always Virtual Box - not full 64 bit but!!!
The Old Pfhaart

Posted Image

#5 Nathan

Nathan

    Curious Tinkerer

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 512 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Naples, Italy
  • Interests:Geeky things, skiing/snowboarding, waterskiing/wakeboarding, motorcycles. Boxing, Judo, PLCs, HMIs, networking, databases, etc...
  • Country:Korea - South
    Korea - South

Posted 28 January 2010 - 05:00 AM

I have to put in my +1 for VMWare here...
Nathan Boeger, CISSP-ISSAP, MCSE, CCVP, VCP
"Design simplicity cures engineered complexity"
Comment on not another Industrial Blog
Check out 2 minute Ignition Intro - rethinking SCADA for modern manufacturing

#6 sbaum

sbaum

    Sparky

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 44 posts
  • Country:Canada
    Canada

Posted 28 January 2010 - 10:15 PM

The 64bit issue is USB drivers for NS & CP1.
I couldn't get them to work in a virtual machine & I was informed by this forum that it won't work.

#7 BobB

BobB

    BobB

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1661 posts
  • Location:Sydney Australia
  • Interests:Omron, gardening, single malt scotch (with crushed ice only) car racing, music (most kinds [no C&W please]).
  • Country:Australia
    Australia

Posted 14 February 2010 - 11:21 PM

No it won't -
the driver has to be installed in the operating system so the virtual machine can access it through the operating system and take it over.
The Old Pfhaart

Posted Image

#8 PMCR

PMCR

    Expert

  • MrPLC Admin
  • 604 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 15 February 2010 - 08:55 AM

There is a 'work around' for Windows 7 64 bit and Omron USB drivers.
Microsoft has a new virtual PC called Windows Virtual PC. This is for Windows 7 only. It is a free download, as is XP Mode, which is a virtual hard drive of Windows XP.
This new Virtual PC features Hardware Virtualization, which must also be turned on in the BIOS of the PC. This allows direct support of USB in the XP OS, without loading the USB driver in the Windows 7 environment.
This allows the USB drivers in CX One to work on a 64 bit Windows 7 machine.

See more at the Microsoft site below.

http://www.microsoft...pc/default.aspx

#9 BobB

BobB

    BobB

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1661 posts
  • Location:Sydney Australia
  • Interests:Omron, gardening, single malt scotch (with crushed ice only) car racing, music (most kinds [no C&W please]).
  • Country:Australia
    Australia

Posted 15 February 2010 - 04:11 PM

Great bit of info on Virtual PC! I notice it also runs on Vista Business. Will give it a try.
The Old Pfhaart

Posted Image

#10 PMCR

PMCR

    Expert

  • MrPLC Admin
  • 604 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 15 February 2010 - 04:18 PM

BobB

I may be wrong, but everything that I have read says that the new Windows Virtual PC is only for Windows 7.
I don't have an Vista Business machine to try it out on.

Let us know how it goes!

#11 BobB

BobB

    BobB

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1661 posts
  • Location:Sydney Australia
  • Interests:Omron, gardening, single malt scotch (with crushed ice only) car racing, music (most kinds [no C&W please]).
  • Country:Australia
    Australia

Posted 15 February 2010 - 04:31 PM

Click here
http://www.microsoft...pc/default.aspx
then here
http://www.microsoft...et-started.aspx
then here
http://www.microsoft...al-pc-2007.aspx
and Voila! It is available for Vista Business too.
The only thing is it mentions XP Pro with SP3. From my understanding of AB stuff quite a bit of it does not run on SP3.
It is quite possible this may be the case with other things too.
With the work around with Virtual PC 2007 the 32 bit drivers for the Omron USB/serial converter should work too.
The Old Pfhaart

Posted Image

#12 PMCR

PMCR

    Expert

  • MrPLC Admin
  • 604 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 15 February 2010 - 04:41 PM

BobB

Again, I could be wrong, but I think that Microsoft pulled a fast one on you.
The last link switched you back to Virtual PC 2007. This does not support Hardware Virtulalization.
It does support serial and Ethernet ports, and this is the environment that I use for my RS Logix 5000 on a WinXP machine.

#13 BobB

BobB

    BobB

  • MrPLC Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1661 posts
  • Location:Sydney Australia
  • Interests:Omron, gardening, single malt scotch (with crushed ice only) car racing, music (most kinds [no C&W please]).
  • Country:Australia
    Australia

Posted 15 February 2010 - 05:39 PM

You are right - one page says yes to Vista but when you dig deeply it will not run on Vista.
You would think they would get it right!!
The Old Pfhaart

Posted Image

#14 PMCR

PMCR

    Expert

  • MrPLC Admin
  • 604 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania
  • Country:United States
    United States

Posted 15 February 2010 - 05:58 PM

I chased my tail for a while trying to understand that all one day.
The cross linking on the Microsoft web site is very confusing on this issue.
Several individuals the I work with are running the XP Mode for Windows 7, with USB support for CP1H and other Omron products with no problems.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users