xunilbama

RS232 Maximum Distance for A-B MicroLogix1200's

8 posts in this topic

Good morning, 

I work as an electronics technician for wastewater treatment and lift stations. We have quite a few RTU's that house a MicroLogix 1200. While I can remotely connect to the MicroLogix 1400's the same can not be said for the MicroLogix 1200's. If a problem occurs at a lift station with the 1200's then I have to connect locally to the 1200 via a 2711-NC21 where one end has a S-video type connector and the other end has a 9-pin serial end with a null modem attachment. I have heard that the maximum distance one can get from a 1200 via a programming/interface cable is 50'. However, there are a few particular RTU's at varous lift stations that are further away than that 50' threshold. Is there any possible way I could exceed this limitation with some kind of interface type device that will take that serial connection and bridge it into another format like bluetooth, LAN, or usb ? I'm really trying to avoid having to be at the mercy of the 6' cable connected to the 1200. There's 1 lift station I can think of where the RTU is probably 60 feet away from the MCC room where the pumps and pump controls are at. 

The 50 feet limitation comes from the EIA specification.   It doesn't mean that the signal dies at 50 feet, but that one should expect reliable communications for installations 50 feet and under.  Performance beyond the stated limit can be compromised.  I know of two installations that when I arrived the RS-232 'cable' had already been installed, in one case about 65 feet, in the other about 75 feet away.   The 65 foot run was not even shielded, twisted pair, but it worked at 9600 baud and to my knowledge is still running today (commissioned in the early 2000's).