Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Duke55

Help required MicroLogix 1000 wiring diagram

11 posts in this topic

Hi, PLC noob here. I am a mechanical engineering apprentice serving my time with a well known global company, as part of my apprentiship I have to do some electrical training. My boss has assigned me a smalll project to carry out within my current sector which is a PLC controlled filter element disposal chute from a second floor level dropping into a bin outside. The whole system has now been constructed and is in place, all my electrical components have been installed but before I can go any further I need a wring diagram that needs be checked and verified before I can start to wire up the system. Now being honest I am very unsure of how to do this as my electrical knowledge is still quite weak. I have a MicroLogix 1000 16 bit PLC here that is going to control the system, the PLC program has still yet to be written as I need to get the hard wiring diagram sorted first. The system consists of the PLC being fed from a 110v AC supply with 3 inputs. 2 Allen Bradley guard locks which I have mounted to the bin so it is locked in position during disposal, and a guardmaster trojan 5 safety switch which is mounted on the bin lid so the plc will know when the bin is open so disposal can take place. There are 7 outputs (I think these should be outputs. Componenets are needed in the system whether they are all outputs I'm not 100%). The first 3 which can all be fed off the same output are 2 xenon beacons and a small green light. Although the 2 beacons need supplied using a 24v DC power supply, I have mounted this in the enclosure already along with the PLC itself and a junction box. The DC power supply is an omron 282k-01524. The other 4 outputs are another guardlock like the 2 mounted on the bin, an electromagnetic lock and 2 small lights, white and red, I have got the standard wiring template for the PLC off the AllenBradley website it is on a pdf file, although