Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
rwraley

Micrologix 1100 to panel view

6 posts in this topic

Hi all. I have searched the forum and the Rockwell knowledge base and haven't found an answer to this question. Does the ML1100 communicate directly with ethernet panelviews or do I need a layer such as devicenet or controlnet to exchange data? I am looking into purchasing several 1100's to place out in the field at our facility to control plant systems over existing ethernet network, but all will be time and calendar based based apps so I wanted to put the operator interface back at the office to modify schedules and monitor status also as a means to manually overide some operations. Does this require having a PLC at the panelview and messaging the field units from it to change N file data. This is my first attempt at designing an ethernet based com network for control so be gentle.