Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
ecclesk

Networking FX2n

4 posts in this topic

I have three plant rooms on a site, each has an FX2n with an E-200 HMI controlling large refrigeration equipment. I would like to have all three plant rooms networked to my workshop (50m to plant room 1, 100m to plant room 2 & 150m to plant room 3) so i could monitor via a HMI or PC, temperatures, if machines are on/off, and all the options on the plant room HMI's. Also i would like to be able to remote monitor temperatures & settings etc from home by dialing in using a laptop, and if possible would like to recieve a text message when an alarm activates, and send a text to site requesting a text back to give me coldstore temperatures. I'm a refrigeration/electrical engineer by trade, i have dabbled with the FX2n to change timers and basic stuff, I'm currently doing a basic programming course to learn a bit more. I wont be doing the job myself, i would like to know what the best options are for when i get someone in to price the job as understand there are many differnt ways to network these PLC's PC or HMI in the workshop? What type of network? Any advice would be greatly appriciated.

You can use 485 network, it's multidrop and can be very long. FX2N has 485 port, this is why they sell you SC09 cable. I would leave main port free for troubleshooting and fit each FX2N with 485 board (mounts on front of the unit) since these things are cheap (some $50-60 or so).