Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
TConnolly

CX-One or CX-Programmer

7 posts in this topic

I've been programming PLCs for over 20 years yet I've never used an Omron before - but that is about to change. Most likely a CPM2A family processor. We don't get to choose the processor, it will be speced. I have been tossed out of the frying pan and into the fire. I have a few questions. 1) Do I need CX-one? What is the difference between CX-one and CX-programmer? It seems that CX-one is the premium all inclusive package. Is the salesman just trying to sell me extra things I don't really need? I'm just programming the PLC. 2) CPM2 security. It looks like from a search of the forum that I can secure my program in the CPM2A PLC, but I don't see anything in the documentation? Can I OEM lock the program? (There is a very good reason for doing this which I cannot elaborate on here - so please no lectures about locking programs, like it or not, this one must be locked.) I spotted a couple of threads where it was stated that four incorrect password guesses would lock out the PLC and another where this was claimed to be a myth. Which is it? I need to know that this unit will be secure. All in all that probably is a bit ridiculous because even with secure code a determined person could sit down and watch the LED lights and write a software specification from which a functionally identical program could be written, but its not like I have the liberty to to choose on this job. Edited by Alaric