Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
hewking

Learning allen bradley - i bought PLC5 and comparing to S7 315

5 posts in this topic

hi All

I am trying to learn allen bradley PLC and i bought PLC-5 enhanced PLC/20.

My first impression is very positive how powerful this PLC is for its age. My background is siemens so i am trying to learn allen bradley by youtube or reading manuals and also comparing to siemens s7.

Any chance you give me your feedback please.

1. PLC-5 seems to have 32 concurrent tasks which is similar to having 32 OB1s in siemens which is continuous task. This nearly blew my mind :) Does anybody know how this concurrency is achieved - is there firmware assigning each task a fixed time eg. 20ms and then jumping to another one?
  2. Does anybody know why PLC-5 is using octal system which is very unique
  3. I heard that allen bradley can simulate things in very sophisticated way using debug files - any chance somebody give me a gist a little bit?
  4. Why there are so many ways to use memory - half slot full or double?
  5. What is rack really - in siemens its just bunch on modules on a rack :)
  6. I also heard that allen bradley when simulating signals its doing it in unique way comparing to simplistic way in which rockwell allows simulation of inputs or outputs during testing - can you help me to get my head around this ?
  7. Is rockwell website my best source ? -of course apart from this forum :)
  8. Is there any place to find old, educational PLC-5 programs to understand - people dont seem to share it much i believe

Regards

Edited by hewking

1) They aren't actually concurrent.  All but one have to have periods and priorities to govern execution interruption.

2) Backwards compatibility with prior processors, and only used for the I/O files.  The I/O chassis for PLC-5 was inherited from the PLC-2 and PLC-3 families.