Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
angeraer

How to reset a counter?

14 posts in this topic

Hello, I'm new to programming a PLC so maybe it's a very newbie question, but here I go. I'm building a windmill and want to controll everything using a PLC. I got my hands on an Omron C200HX type. Now I'm trying to determine the windspeed. I have to count pulses from the windsensor and calculate a 10 minute average. I have created some kind of array (10 elements, 1 for each minute) and with a counter I put the results of each minute in the array. The first 10 minutes I need to divide the total of the array through the number of filled elements. After 10 minutes I need to divide the total of the array though 10. I used a counter to count from 10 to 1. But when I reset the PLC, the SV value of the counter isn't reset. So I have a problem that my array counter isn't in line with the counter. My question : Can I set a counter to 10 during the First_Cycle event? I attached the code. All advice is appreciated!!! Thanks, Andy. Edited by angeraer

I do not have the Rar archiving software, but... The first Cycle Flag is bit 253.15 Use this bit to reset the counter on power-up.

Jay, I'm already using the First cycle event to clear some fields. But I also would like to reset the counter I'm using further in my program. I attached my program uncompressed. Thanks, Andy. Windmolen.cxp

By using a DM as the reference point for the counter SV, you can alter it at any time. CNT10 DM2000 Instead of CNT10 #10 Write the value you require to DM2000 MOV #10 (or any number you wish up to 9999) DM2000

Is it possible that this doesn't work? I Tried it like you said. Created a symbol: counter_value at address DM31 with value #10. Created a MOV instruction to reset the value to 10 at First_Cycle. Checked my counter and it isn't set to 10. It's using the SV value counter_value. In the monitor window I see : CNT1 value : 2 (BCD) and counting down... counter_value : 10 Thanks, Andy.