del0422

1746-INT4 Programming

7 posts in this topic

Hello everyone.  I am a beginner in PLC programming. I have a project where it involves an SLC 5/02 CPU and a 1746-INT4 thermocouple input module. I want to create a simple program where i can read the temperature from a type J thermocouple and then display it on an HMI. I have tried to read the manual for it but since im a beginner it is hard for me to comprehend it. If you can give me an example of the programming then it will be easier for me to understand.

Thank you very much in advance.

I'm not a big fan of RTFM posts to questions like this but it really is just a matter of reading the manual. Config starts on Page 20 and they go through the steps you need to follow for configuring a channel.

http://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/um/1746-um614_-en-p.pdf

Edited by Michael Lloyd

Sorry if i sounded like a "noob" to you experts, but i really am. I did not have any professional or basic training for this. Of course i have read the manual but its still hard for me to comprehend since the examples given were not a complete one for "noobs" like me. The fact that i asked for a sample program is quite understandable that i have less experience. I do not understand why i got the "read the manual" answer when i clearly stated on my post that i have read them. Well for you "Experts" its very clear and understandable. Would it hurt if you just give me an example? 

Dont reply if your not going to help. You are just being an *** displaying your "Expertise" to everyone. Your reply is useless

With an attitude like that you are not going to get many "experts" to help you, however, The configuration of the channels is done through Output words 0 to 3 and the values read back from Input words 0 to 3,

If the card resides in slot 3  then the configuration of channel 1 would be written to O:3.0 and the value read back from I:3.0 and the channel status can be read from I:3.4