Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
mouldermike

unitronics anyone?

7 posts in this topic

I've just installed my first Mitsubishi FX3U PLC using GX Developer (self taught) machine is running fine but I need to install an HMI and learn how to program it. Buying the kit and software will set me back a few hundred pounds. For my next project would a combined PLC/HMI with free software as offered by Uniitronics be better? Doesn't seem to be a forum for this so anyone got any opinions? Mike

A friend of mine is using them for some very simple jobs. The software is free but is hard to use in my opinion. Simple jobs OK - complex forget it. I normally use Omron for everything but nothing is free as with all the major manufacturers but I believe the cost of software is reasonable. I do not use combined units ever - too much wiring to the door and takes too long.

I have used them for a couple of simple projects. The PLC programming is clunky, although some "old-timers" don't mind it. Simple programming, but it is difficult to do anything more than the basics. Can be done, just not easily.

I price compared the Mitsubishi and Unitronics once, and I remember that the hardware price was about the same. Since I already had the Mitsubishi software and experience with it, I went that direction. Mitsubishi software is very reasonable these days compare to some of the other big guys. BobB makes an excellent point about wiring, which I second! Red Lion makes some excellent HMIs with free software. Not sure about pricing on the smaller units. I've also used the C-More Micro. They get the job done. To use them with the FX, you'll need the plug in comms adapter.

Thanks for the input everyone - it seems I'm sticking with Mitsubishi. Is the Mitsubishi GOT the best solution for an HMI in my circumstance? Cheers Mike