Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
W.W.

FactoryTalk View HMI Programming

7 posts in this topic

As a disclaimer: I'm fairly new to HMI programming and I haven't been using FT View Studio for very long. I'm developing an HMI for an AB PV+ 700 that talks to a MicroLogix 1200. I have a series of buttons in an HMI display and an integrated control stepper motor that is being controlled by the MicroLogix. There are a bunch of preset positions of the stepper motor linked to the buttons in the HMI but I want to be able to add new positions of the stepper motor to empty buttons in the HMI. How might I go about doing that? Can I set tags on the buttons to store the data being read at a certain memory address? (I'm not sure if that's the correct wording for that) As a side note: is there any way to manually code an HMI for a PV+ in a language like C or Python (or even VB)? Edited by W.W.
1 person likes this

No "manual" way to program, and on the PV+ side (as opposed to the distributed SCADA side) no VBA scripting available either. I can't think of a way to push values into empty buttons from the controller, but would a numeric input work? This would allow you to enter/display the value directly, then use a button if you want to force the operator to "accept" the value (i.e., write the value down to a tag in the controller, then use the button to toggle a bit high on the rung moving the tag value to the motor.)

Program it to work like the presets on a car radio. Make the HMI buttons trigger a bit in the PLC. Each bit should have a correlary data register that stores that button's preset. If the button is pressed and held (put a timer on the bit), then move the current stepper position into the data register for that button. If the button is pressed and released, then move the position in the data register to the command position for the stepper.