Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
mark_automatedlogic

Modbus registers

6 posts in this topic

Hello, Can anyone tell me how to extract or create a Modbus register list from a .flb file? I'm not a PLC guy - I'm a ALC tech trying to integrate to a GE PLC through a Modbus serial connection, and the PLC tech has given me the .flb file for the job. I can open it with WinZip, and there are files that seem to contain input and output register data, but I can't open them. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Mark

The flb file is a VersaPro backup file. If you don't have VersaPro, contact me by PM. I'll give you an email address where you can send it to me. I can open it and print the variable list for you. None of the serial ports on a GE PLC are Modbus by default. Someone will need to configure a port as a Modbus slave. Furthermore, not all of the PLC's data will be available via Modbus. Someone may need to copy internal coils (%M memory) or analog outputs (%AQ memory) to memory areas that are accessible to Modbus.

Steve, Thanks very much for the offer, I will certainly take you up on that. The PLC was previously 'talking' to a Siemens automation system using Modbus, and we simply took over that port when we changed out their hardware for ours. I have verified that I can read random registers from the PLC, but I have no idea which registers contain the values that I need. I have asked the local rep for the list, but I have a feeling I'm pretty low on his priority list. I do appreciate the assistance, and will be in contact. Thanks again, Mark