Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
BenJones

FX3u and FX3u-485ADP-MB and RS485 communication

10 posts in this topic

Hello, I'm pretty new to PLC programming and haven't set up a MODBUS protocol before. I have read all the manuals and downloaded the FB's from the Beijer website. I've connected the slave and have been trying to get comms for 2 weeks without much luck. Today I had the red "Send" light flashing on the 485 card and error message 211 which is as far as I've got. Cant even believe I got the light flashg to be honest. All I need to do is read data from a slave (kWh's etc) but I'm not sure the best way to go about programmingit it. I'm trying to use the ModbusFX3uMASTERADP_MB_CH1 FB at the moment but not totally convinced how it works. I've gone into Parameter / PLC and set up PLC system(2) for CH1 with 485 protocol etc but not sure if I need 8 bit, Even etc. I dont even know if I need to set this ? (It doesn't say in the slave manual if its ODD / EVEN/ 8bit etc, so I'm a bit lost) : http://uk.rs-online.com/web/search/searchB...t&R=0531226 http://docs-europe.electrocomponents.com/w...66b80da29db.pdf Ive set up the protocol with MB_192_8E1 which I believe makes it 19200 baud rate. Not quite understanding the addressing or command codes. My boss wont pay for any training for me (he's from Yorkshire), so I've spent hours reading the manuals and trying to work it out. Any help would be very useful and thanks in advance. Cheers, Ben

What is your hardware configuration? What board is installed in the CPU? What module are you using for communications. I assume you are using GX IEC Developer since you mentioned function blocks from Beijers.

Hello Ben, Please be more specific. What kind of help you would like to get? Edited by Inntele