Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
LURBY

Taking programming beyond the entry level

11 posts in this topic

Hello everyone - I have been programming PLC's for about 4-5 years now. All Allen Bradley. Mostly small Micrologix 1000 and a Micrologix 1500 here or there. I have learned by doing. My question is this : Is there a book or a website that I can find that would take me to the next level? I often get frustrated with my own meager programming skills. I know that there is probably a better way to write a certain program (and probably faster too) but I just do not have the knowledge. I work for a small company. There really aren't enough funds to send me to a school or anything like that. This is really for my own peace of mind. I must say that I have turned to this site many times to get ideas about how to do something. You are all a wonderful resource. Any ideas or suggestions would be appreciated.

Have you read Hugh Jack's PLC textbook? It's my favorite! He covers the basics plus goes into some of the more advanced topics of analog I/O & networking. He also has a lab book to go with it if you have a benchtop controller to play with. http://www.eod.gvsu.edu/~jackh/books/plcs/ HTH! Susan 20+ yrs of playing with PLCs and still learning

You have to kill the boss before you can get to the next level. -sorry- couldn't resist

You have to realize that the PLC is just a tool. You should look at leaning new math skills, physics and possibly another programming language ( another tool ).

you can check samples in download section. there is lots to learn from them.