Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
speakerman

Double registers... how do I assign/use them?

5 posts in this topic

Hey there to all the people who understand the magic of the MSB... I am relatively new to the Mitsubishi platform and am having some difficulty working through the mass of information in the manuals to find a specific instruction. Hopefully someone out there can pass on an easy fix to this problem: I have data registers for sending the speed control frequency to several VFD remote devices on a CC-Link. The interface for setting the speed registers and ramping in an accelerated way for graduated adjustments works well, and the operators like the way that performs. My only remaining wrinkle is that I need to be able to convert that number to an rpm for speed display, and the trouble is that the frequency register resolution is from 33 to 7833 in single integer increments. This represents frequency in hertz x 100, where 60.00 Hz is stored in the register and read by the drive as 6000 for a speed of 1800 rpm. I need the resolution to remain this accurate, as this is a steel milling machine and the rpm is critical during larger cut cycles. I tried dividing the frequency by 3.33 for an accurate conversion to rpm, but I'm not allowed to use decimals unless I delve into the world of floating point. Next I tried multiplying it by 100, then dividing it by 333, which would give the same result. This seemed to work, as the destination register stored the higher value after the multiplication, using two consecutive registers to store the number as the value exceeded the capacity of a single 16 bit unit. The problem occurred when I tried to reference those registers to divide them by 333. It kept showing negative numbers, as it wouldn't reference both of the destination registers holding the result of the earlier multiplication. It appears that the follow-up DIV function was only reading the first register, which usually had a 1 in its MSB location, making the an