Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
oboy

LM90 Comms

7 posts in this topic

I am new to GE PLC's. I'm trying to communicate with a GE 90/70 PLC using the old LM90 software. The customer let me borrow a training rack and I loaded the software on my notebook. I copied the serial communication parameters that they are using on other machines to my program and made sure the comm port settings on the computer match. When I try to go online I get a message of No Communication. Next, I made sure that the customer PC would go online with the processor using my serial cable and it worked. It appears to me I have a configuration problem on my notebook. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Dale

When you install Logicmaster, the default port parameters are the same as the default settings for Series 90 PLCs. Most users don't change from the default settings. What operating system are you running on the computer that won't communicate? What COM port are you trying to use? What revision level of LM90? Is there anything else running on the computer that might be using the COM port that Logicmaster is set up to use? When Logicmaster loads, do you get any kind of message indicate that the communications driver failed to load? You may have to watch carefully. The message doesn't always stay displayed for long.