Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
TConnolly

Karnaugh Maps

7 posts in this topic

I downloaded and looked at the manual linked at the forum front page http://forums.mrplc.com/index.php?&act=Down...&CODE=02&id=156 Lots of good stuff in there, but one item in particular caught my attention: Karnaugh maps. When I was a newbie fresh out of college I wrote a couple of prorgrams that I was quite proud of. I mapped everything and applied my newly minted logic reduction skills. The programs were slick and streamlined. But no one could read them, some of the logic was not at all obvious. Two years later, not even I could read them. And what about all that memory I saved? Its still there, in the PLC, bought and paid for, consuming power, doing nothing really fast. Since then I've abandoned logic reduction, perfering to write more obvious code that doens't require my future attention, but instead is far more readable so that at 3:00 am some maintenance tech somewhere can handle it. I've frequently even taken it to the opposit extreme, to the point of repeating some logic that might be covered by one bit in the rung if it helps make the rung's function more obvious.

The only place I've ever used Karnaugh Maps is in electronic circuitry design. I think they are more for reducing the number of logic gates - which are at a premium in a circuit - and not to improve efficiency. Edited by Spedley

My idea behind K-maps was that they were the tool to use when; if you have a complex logical expression and efficient minimisation by boolean algebra if difficult k-maps are the thing. Sometimes though the size of the map can make it really crazy to work out. I think that there is alot to be said about making the program easy to read, especially for people who will have to just come to the mahchine and fix it. Takes you back to college and University doesn't it.