Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
westwind80

plc ladder diagram meaning

4 posts in this topic

Hi all,

Can someone help me to understand the ladder diagram below? I am a newbie in plc programming. I'm try desperately to learn

plc.png

get programming manual for your PLC. it will explain each instruction, addressing etc,

each PLC also has own instruction manual that is product specific. so you really really need to know what exact hardware you are working with and get correct manuals.

in general CPU can access some memory directly. that includes memory location M, D etc. one can also directly access regular I/O (X and Y).

but when there is an "intelligent" device or I/O module things get a bit more complicated. intelligent module is practically EVERY module except the simple digital I/Os.

that includes products that have analog inputs, analog outputs, servo control, communication interface etc.

so each of those intelligent devices will also have own manual, explaining functionality as well as how to access the parameters. part of memory of the module that is accessible from "outside" (by PLC CPU) is called buffer. using TO and FROM instructions one can read or write the buffer locations. 

note that it also matters how the PLC is configured - module that is in a different location will have different base address, which is what you need to know in order to access buffer locations in that module. for example in some particular configuration, you may have several identical analog input cards. but you need to parametrize and get values from each separately. 

your program sample seem to do same kind of thing. Z0 is special register that can be used to add offset. K0 is decimal representation of 0. so K0Z0 allow you to use same set of instructions to access different module simply by changing Z0 value.

the first line says something like: