Forums.MrPLC.com: Simple programming cable for Mitsubishi FX - Forums.MrPLC.com

Jump to content

  • (3 Pages) +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Simple programming cable for Mitsubishi FX Rate Topic: ***** 1 Votes

#1
User is offline   Sergei Troizky 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 605
  • Joined: 04-March 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal
  • Country:Canada
    Canada
So, here is a knife to the Beijers back- a simple and inexpensive programming cable for Mitsubishi FX series, to be used instead of SC-09.

The cable is successfully used with FX0N, FX1N, FX1S, FX2N.
EDIT: According to repeated complains this cable may not work with FX0, FX0S.

The connectors on the diagram are 8-pin mini-DIN male on the PLC side and 9-pin sub-D female on the PC side.

Take measures in order for the PLC pin 5 (+5V) not to be shorted with any other one in order to prevent the PLC or PC port damage.

For AC powered PLC, the requirement to avoid phase conflict by powering PC from the same AC phase remains in power, exactly as for the SC-09 cable.
The difference is that in a case of phase conflict at least cable is not damaged now.

Attached thumbnail(s)

  • Attached Image: Mitsubishi_Cable.jpg

This post has been edited by Sergei Troizky: 21 March 2005 - 06:41 PM

0

#2
Guest_Guest_*

  • Group: Guest
you didn't keep the promise, you were 52 minutes too early :dance:
0

#3
User is offline   Sergei Troizky 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 605
  • Joined: 04-March 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal
  • Country:Canada
    Canada
I live in Montreal, Canada and here was after midnight already :-p
I always keep my promises.

This post has been edited by Sergei Troizky: 02 June 2003 - 08:53 PM

0

#4
User is offline   Sergei Troizky 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 605
  • Joined: 04-March 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal
  • Country:Canada
    Canada
Attention all users of the described cable.
Sometimes, with the FX1N-422-BD port duplicator card installed in FX1N, the cable does not work with one of the ports (more often- with the duplicator card port).
MEDOC is indicating "Error in received data", "PLC replies NAK", or simply communicates slow with lots of retries.
The cable still works perfectly with another port in such cases.

This post has been edited by Sergei Troizky: 22 February 2004 - 03:55 PM

0

#5
Guest_Scooter_*

  • Group: Guest
Has anyone tried this cable? (besides the inventor)\
If it works, A big :shrug: to Sergei.
0

#6
Guest_Ken_*

  • Group: Guest
Can it be used with FX1GM as well? what's the program required to use FX1GM?
0

#7
User is offline   Sergei Troizky 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 605
  • Joined: 04-March 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal
  • Country:Canada
    Canada
The part number sounds like a motion controller but I've never heard of this specific one.
The FX2N-10GM/20-GM use the SC-09 cable, and my cable should work with them.
0

#8
User is offline   Sergei Troizky 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 605
  • Joined: 04-March 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal
  • Country:Canada
    Canada
The cable may be even simpler- replace the resistor with jumper.
Tested.
0

#9
Guest_Wouter_*

  • Group: Guest
Sergei are you sure that the cable won't do any damage to the PLC or PC? Because I don't want to blow up my precious PLC :*-(

Have other people test this cable already? Did it work?

Greetz :clap:
0

#10
User is offline   Contr_Conn 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 426
  • Joined: 07-September 03
  • Country:United States
    United States
Wouter:
I have one customer, who tested Sergey's cable with FX1N and it was working fine with 8pin port. It will not work with 25pin port.
I don't know about FX0 PLC you have.

It should not damage PC or PLC.
Just keep in mind that SC09 does not have any opto-isulation, only ESD protection.

If you handy, you can make your own SC09 cable as a good school project:
it takes only one or 2 ICs and few capacitors.

Beijers schematics is widely available and I have 5 or 6 different simplified schematic versions and it depends what chips you can get.

Email me, if you need more details.
micromet@adelphia.net

Alex
0

#11
User is offline   Sergei Troizky 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 605
  • Joined: 04-March 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal
  • Country:Canada
    Canada
Wouter,
The cable cannot damage PC or PLC port, assumung no mistakes in wiring.
I used it in tens of commercial projects already.
For more security leave the resistor in place: a wiring mistake with jumper can damage a port, with resistor- not.
With FX0 it may work even without jumper, but not guaranteed.

PLC Cables,
I do not understand whether you mean PLC or PC 25-pin port.
In any case I do not see a reason for the cable not to work (with corrected pin numbers in wiring, of course).
I also do not see any reason to clone SC-09 if a pin-to-pin cable makes the job.

This post has been edited by Sergei Troizky: 21 September 2003 - 07:10 PM

0

#12
User is offline   Contr_Conn 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 426
  • Joined: 07-September 03
  • Country:United States
    United States
Sergei,
I mean PLCs with 25 pin port - older style like A-series.
They are using handshaking lines RTS/CTS along with RXD/TXD.
It is possible to modify your cable to add this lines, but it will not work with 25pin port AS IS.

In any case it will not damage PLC or PC.
Nobody should copy SC09 desing, it can be simplified to minimum components or minimum cost.
But your cable definately works as a cheap programming alternative to SC09.

Just for some projects you must stay within RS422/R232 interface specification like min/max voltage, max distance etc. ESD protection also required.

Alex
0

#13
Guest_Ken_*

  • Group: Guest
Hi guys. Can anybody tell me what software is used to program FX2n-10GM with this cable? Medoc possible?
thanks
0

#14
Guest_lansoc_*

  • Group: Guest
Hey, Sergei Troizky

Do you have any knowledge of the old MTA-10 "baby" op station build by Beijers and sold under the Mitsu name???

It uses a similar cable called an SC-06N which is used for download from a win based config program. It like the SC-09 is a 232-422 converter.
It has one hooker, 2 pins are also supplying +5vdc & "-" for powering it up. That's no problem.
I'm interested in the possiblity of using your cable in the same fashion. I'm worried about just giving it a try and end up damaging PC Port or MTA-10 port.

Any info would be appreciated. I have drawing of SC-06N it that would help you to help me!

I'm not an electronics person so the chips in the device are kind of way over my head!

THANX!
0

#15
User is offline   Sergei Troizky 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 605
  • Joined: 04-March 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal
  • Country:Canada
    Canada
Hi, Lansoc

The principle should work with MTA-10/12, but I have never tried.
And will not try already.
MTA is obsolete and, probably, discontinued product.
I have replaced it with Aromat GT-10 small touchscreen in my projects.

Sergei
0

#16
Guest_TROUBLED PLC MAN_*

  • Group: Guest
Sergei,
I was wondering if you have any cabling ideas for the FX1n for laptops without serial ports. I purchased a USB to serial cable converter but it does not work with the PLC. ANy ideas???

MIKE :stupid:
0

#17
User is offline   Contr_Conn 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 426
  • Joined: 07-September 03
  • Country:United States
    United States

Quote

I was wondering if you have any cabling ideas for the FX1n for laptops without serial ports. I purchased a USB to serial cable converter but it does not work with the PLC. ANy ideas???

Look here: Shops at MRPLC
0

#18
User is offline   Jimbo 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: 08-January 04
  • Location:Europe Belgium
  • Interests:Skiing, Snooker, Drinking beer, Having fun, ...
In the beginning i had some problems with my usb to serial convertor and the mitsubishi programming software but i solved it with updating my windows XP to service pack 1. So i suggest you do a windows update

Greetz
0

#19
Guest_troubled PLC man_*

  • Group: Guest
OK,

First, I have purchased a serial PCMCIA card per my local MITS rep suggestion. It has not arrived yet. I am running teh latest, most up to date version of XP.

I am using a Belkin converter with the SC09 cable to my FX1N PLC. The software being used is GX IEC Developer. I receive a communication error with the PLC even though all transmit settings are correct. I get a quick flask of teh lights on my adapter and then the error.

My local REP says that the converters are sometimes problems and that they use the PCMCIA cards. I will let you know how it works out with that card once I get to try it. I have to get it wokred out b4 my next road trip or I will have to bring two laptops with me :stupid:

MIke
0

#20
Guest_troubled plc man_*

  • Group: Guest
THank you PLC CABLES, I wish I had seen that before I ordered the Card.

Mike
0

#21
User is offline   Sergei Troizky 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 605
  • Joined: 04-March 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal
  • Country:Canada
    Canada
Most probably, not all the communication settings are OK.
Also, I would test the converter with anything else.
A serial mouse is good enough, if you can get one.
Or try another brand PLC, with RS232 programming port.
SC-09 also should be tested on another PC with a serial port.

This post has been edited by Sergei Troizky: 19 February 2004 - 09:40 PM

0

#22
Guest_TROUBLED PLC MAN_*

  • Group: Guest
UPDATE:

Received the new cable from MRPLC and it works great. no cards, no converters (except the one built into the cable).

Thanks again,

Mike :shrug:
0

#23
Guest_Henk_*

  • Group: Guest
The cable is working fine on my FX10.

Thanks.
0

#24
Guest_Guest_mike_*

  • Group: Guest
I made cable as shown, but it doesn't work. Program Melsec Medox v1.1, FX0 logic. I get communication error. Any hints?`

Thanks.
0

#25
Guest_mkarvine_*

  • Group: Guest
I still didn't get the cable to work :*-( but here's diagram that worked fine with me:

PLC / PC db-9
1____3
2____5
3____5
4____2
6____1,4,6
7____5

-short connect PC pins 7 and 8
-connect connectors "grounds?" together

This post has been edited by mkarvine: 14 May 2004 - 04:33 PM

0

#26
User is offline   rajsiyer 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 264
  • Joined: 15-July 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:704/83, Panchavati Bldg., Vasant Vihar, Pokhran Road-2, Thane. (near Mumbai)India pin:400610
  • Interests:AB,Schneider, Citect, HIMA, Siemens,Intouch, ABB, GEFanuc etc. A seasoned electrical engineer.
  • Country:India
    India
Hi folks..

Iíve a problem. Thereís a Mitsubishi FX2-32 and its hand held programmer with us. When linked together, they communicate fine. Only that the HHP screens are in Japanese.

Since Iíve also got Medoc v 2.3(DOS) Iíve tried to link the RS-422 port on the FX2 -32 with the pc using a MOXA /ADAM converter (Typ. ADAM 4520) using the RXD+, RXD -, TXD+ and TXD- (pins that are 2,15, 3 and16 on the 25-pin port connnector of the PLC). I have tried innumerable combinations of baud-rate, parity and data bits so that communication may be established. Nothing works.

So.. would somebody help me out with this. At least how could it be known at what comm.. settings parameters, the Hand held programmer talks.

Thanks a million..

Raj
My name is Raj. I live and work in my beloved country India, as head of projects, Prolific systems & Technologies Pvt. Ltd. I am primarily an electrical engineer from the College of Engineering Pune. (grad.1983). I look up to this site as friend philosopher and guide and always endeavor to help out my fellow automation engineers in any doubt.
0

#27
Guest_Guest_*

  • Group: Guest
I used Sergei's simple cable on a 25 pin D Connector RS-422 port on a FX plc with only a small modification: And I'm happy to tell the world that it works very, very very well.

Connect the RXD enable pin(Pin 21) to ground. You need the RTS+ and RTS- signals too. Connect them to 0v and +5v, through a 1k resistor. and your cable is ready to communicate. A number of pins i.e. 12, 13, 25 carry the 5v Signal. Likewise the ground voltage is available at pins7 & 8.

The rest of the cable is exactly as described by sergei. The needed RXd and TXd negatives are led to cross connect at the PC with TX & RX. The ground voltage must be linked to pin 5 of the PC's port.

A big big thanks to Sergei once again,

RAJ S> IYER
0

#28
User is offline   panic mode 

  • Mitsubishi Moderator
  • Group: MrPLC Admin
  • Posts: 2,103
  • Joined: 17-November 02
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mississauga, ON
  • Interests:many...
  • Country:Canada
    Canada
Can you provide drawing?
0

#29
User is offline   rajsiyer 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 264
  • Joined: 15-July 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:704/83, Panchavati Bldg., Vasant Vihar, Pokhran Road-2, Thane. (near Mumbai)India pin:400610
  • Interests:AB,Schneider, Citect, HIMA, Siemens,Intouch, ABB, GEFanuc etc. A seasoned electrical engineer.
  • Country:India
    India
Here is the cable I made, it works well on both Round pin as well as 25 Pin connectors, if connected in the manner shown. Importantly, it is the RX Negative and TX negative signals that are cross connected with TD and RD on the PC. One may avoid using the 5 Volt signal at the mini Din Connector if no power is needed that end


Regards,
Raj

Attached File  CABLE.doc (67K)
Number of downloads: 13622

This post has been edited by rajsiyer: 11 February 2006 - 05:13 AM

My name is Raj. I live and work in my beloved country India, as head of projects, Prolific systems & Technologies Pvt. Ltd. I am primarily an electrical engineer from the College of Engineering Pune. (grad.1983). I look up to this site as friend philosopher and guide and always endeavor to help out my fellow automation engineers in any doubt.
0

#30
Guest_Guest_Wouter_*

  • Group: Guest
Can anybody tell me the difference between a 250-300$ SC-09 cable and the 20 cent cable that has been posted on this forum? I want to try the simple cable posted by Sergei, but I want to make sure that my precious little PLC won't be hurt. :-1 What makes the original cable so expensive?

Thanks :-)
0

Share this topic:


  • (3 Pages) +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users