Forums.MrPLC.com: micrologix 1500 High speed counters - Forums.MrPLC.com

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

micrologix 1500 High speed counters Rate Topic: -----

#1
User is offline   kewl1313 

  • Hi, I am New!
  • Pip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 28-August 10
  • Country:United States
    United States
I am trying to figure out how to setup and use the high speed counter. I am trying to us a encoder with it. Then us the encoder and a space counter...as per expamle x amout of encoder tic's make x amount of inches.. Any Help would be nice.


Thanks
Dan
0

#2
User is offline   b_carlton 

  • User
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 963
  • Joined: 16-September 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Yakima, Washington
  • Country:United States
    United States
Do you have the encoder hooked up?
Do you see the input bit turn on and off as you rotate the encoder?
Are counts occurring in the HSC accumulator?

How far are you in this development? Where do you need help?
An output is a PLC's way of getting its inputs to change.
0

#3
User is offline   kewl1313 

  • Hi, I am New!
  • Pip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 28-August 10
  • Country:United States
    United States
Yes I have it hooked up and I do get a signal. I do believe I need to fine tune my signal for it. I only get one count on 1 fulll turn. I can get the signal to go to a N7 file and watch it count. I am trying to figure out how to write the logic so I can use the signal to either make a funtcion start or stop. Thanks
0

#4
User is offline   b_carlton 

  • User
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 963
  • Joined: 16-September 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Yakima, Washington
  • Country:United States
    United States
Now that you have the count as a number look up the math instructions and compare instructions. You can manipulate the numbers and compare them to points a which you wish actions to be carried out.
An output is a PLC's way of getting its inputs to change.
0

#5
User is offline   OkiePC 

  • Boat Rocker/Trouble Breaker
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 934
  • Joined: 25-April 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oklahoma
  • Interests:Kids, Outdoors, Animals, Sports, Science, Math, Music, Puzzles, Video Games, Food, Watersports, Paintball, Jeeps, Pit Bulldogs, Chevy, OU Football, Hiking, Piddling, more ...
  • Country:United States
    United States

View Postkewl1313, on 03 September 2010 - 07:37 AM, said:

I only get one count on 1 fulll turn.

That description makes it sound like you are only counting the z-pulse.

Can you tell us more about how the encoder is wired?

Be as specific as possible, and include part numbers if you can.

This post has been edited by OkiePC: 03 September 2010 - 01:27 PM

0

#6
User is offline   blperkins 

  • Hi, I am New!
  • Pip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 30-September 05
One more thing that always gets me. Is to set the filter time of the input down.
0

#7
User is offline   kewl1313 

  • Hi, I am New!
  • Pip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 28-August 10
  • Country:United States
    United States

View PostOkiePC, on 03 September 2010 - 01:26 PM, said:

View Postkewl1313, on 03 September 2010 - 07:37 AM, said:

I only get one count on 1 fulll turn.

That description makes it sound like you are only counting the z-pulse.

Can you tell us more about how the encoder is wired?

Be as specific as possible, and include part numbers if you can.




The encoder is one off of a machine that we used to have...It is a BEI IDEACOD type: GHM510-1800-001, I have wired up 24vdc out of the plc and wired up A which is a green wire and B which is a yellow wire.
A is hooked up to I:0 and B is hooked up to I:1. Hopes this helps... Thanks again veryone
0

#8
User is offline   kaiser_will 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 210
  • Joined: 05-February 08
  • Country:United States
    United States
You do not mention wiring up A- or B-. Don't leave the common of the channels floating.

The channels are wired into discrete inputs, or high-speed counter inputs?

If you have access to an oscilloscope, you should be able to tap into the pulse train from channels and verify a signal.

What PLC model and high speed counter card are you using?
0

#9
User is offline   kewl1313 

  • Hi, I am New!
  • Pip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 28-August 10
  • Country:United States
    United States

View Postkaiser_will, on 09 September 2010 - 08:09 AM, said:

You do not mention wiring up A- or B-. Don't leave the common of the channels floating.

The channels are wired into discrete inputs, or high-speed counter inputs?

If you have access to an oscilloscope, you should be able to tap into the pulse train from channels and verify a signal.

What PLC model and high speed counter card are you using?


I wired it up as per the Rockwell Automation. They did not say to wire up the A- or B-.... As for a oscilloscope I can not get one.
The PLC is a MicroLogix 1500 and I am using the High speed counter that is built in.. Which lets me us Input 0 and Input 1.
If there is a better way of doing this Please let me know..
0

#10
User is offline   OkiePC 

  • Boat Rocker/Trouble Breaker
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 934
  • Joined: 25-April 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oklahoma
  • Interests:Kids, Outdoors, Animals, Sports, Science, Math, Music, Puzzles, Video Games, Food, Watersports, Paintball, Jeeps, Pit Bulldogs, Chevy, OU Football, Hiking, Piddling, more ...
  • Country:United States
    United States
Not finding any info on your part number.

Sounds like you have it wired right.

The filter settings are going to be critical...be sure to check that under I/O config.

You need to use the HSC file, not just regular input instructions and counter. I have little experience with the function files in the Micrologix, but Bernie appears to have strong knowledge in setting that up.
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users