Forums.MrPLC.com: 64 bit operating systems and Rockwell software - Forums.MrPLC.com

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

64 bit operating systems and Rockwell software Rate Topic: -----

#1
User is offline   robh 

  • Fishin Machine
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 374
  • Joined: 29-November 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oregon
  • Country:United States
    United States
Is anybody using Windows XP Professional x64 Edition. Or any other 64 bit operating systems? Rockwell told me today via live chat that Rockwell software products have not been qualified to work with a 64 bit OS. Some software may work marginally, but 64 bit OS is not supported at this time.

The real zinger here is that I have 4 new Dell D830 notebooks on the way and they all have Windows XP Professional x64 Edition. :-D
Computers have enabled people to make more mistakes faster than almost any invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and hand guns.
0

#2
User is offline   Nathan 

  • Curious Tinkerer
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 512
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Naples, Italy
  • Interests:Geeky things, skiing/snowboarding, waterskiing/wakeboarding, motorcycles. Boxing, Judo, PLCs, HMIs, networking, databases, etc...
  • Country:Korea - South
    Korea - South
Oh gosh - it took them a year and a half to support Vista. Rockwell tends to be far from the cutting edge in terms of new platform support. In my experience XP x64 is significantly "more different" a beast - remember how long it took them to support (port) spell checking in Outlook? While this is especially true of hardware support, it also applies to application compilation. I'd install the software and give it a whirl, but don't spend to much time "troubleshooting" applications that crash/don't run.

Perhaps a virtualized approach on those laptops is your solution...?

View Postrobh, on Oct 20 2008, 04:00 PM, said:

Is anybody using Windows XP Professional x64 Edition. Or any other 64 bit operating systems? Rockwell told me today via live chat that Rockwell software products have not been qualified to work with a 64 bit OS. Some software may work marginally, but 64 bit OS is not supported at this time.

The real zinger here is that I have 4 new Dell D830 notebooks on the way and they all have Windows XP Professional x64 Edition. :-D

This post has been edited by Nathan: 20 October 2008 - 04:09 PM

Nathan Boeger, CISSP-ISSAP, MCSE, CCVP, VCP
"Design simplicity cures engineered complexity"
Comment on not another Industrial Blog
Check out 2 minute Ignition Intro - rethinking SCADA for modern manufacturing
0

#3
User is offline   robh 

  • Fishin Machine
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 374
  • Joined: 29-November 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oregon
  • Country:United States
    United States
I called Dell to confirm that the OS (both Vista and XP) were actually 64-bit versions of the software. Thankfully, they informed me that the units shipped with the 32-bit version of the OS software. So it looks like all I will have to do is downgrade to SP2. Feel better for now.
Computers have enabled people to make more mistakes faster than almost any invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and hand guns.
0

#4
User is offline   kaiser_will 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 210
  • Joined: 05-February 08
  • Country:United States
    United States
We have not tried XP64, but we by standard wipe all new laptops and format with the IT group's WinXP-Pro. Bundled laptops often have a lot of service crap on them that just create potential security open doors, slow down PC performance and make startups longer.

Here is a tip...if you are setting up multiple laptops of the same hardware and software, get one system setup and configured (all the RSLogix software, all the RSLinx drivers, etc.), make a ghost of its hard drive, then duplicate this image for the other machines. I figure 50-60 hours setup time per laptop to get all of the programming packages setup and configured properly. In your case, 50 hours for laptop 1, then another 1 hour each to Ghost the drive images. Badda-bing!
0

#5
User is offline   Nathan 

  • Curious Tinkerer
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 512
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Naples, Italy
  • Interests:Geeky things, skiing/snowboarding, waterskiing/wakeboarding, motorcycles. Boxing, Judo, PLCs, HMIs, networking, databases, etc...
  • Country:Korea - South
    Korea - South
Good advice. Also, look at running sysprep to take care of unique identifiers that you don't want ghosted. In particular don't join the computer to the domain prior to imaging.

http://technet.micro...y/bb457067.aspx

The other cool option is to create fully configured virtual machines. They're even simpler to move and run.

View Postkaiser_will, on Oct 21 2008, 01:50 PM, said:

Here is a tip...if you are setting up multiple laptops of the same hardware and software, get one system setup and configured (all the RSLogix software, all the RSLinx drivers, etc.), make a ghost of its hard drive, then duplicate this image for the other machines. I figure 50-60 hours setup time per laptop to get all of the programming packages setup and configured properly. In your case, 50 hours for laptop 1, then another 1 hour each to Ghost the drive images. Badda-bing!

Nathan Boeger, CISSP-ISSAP, MCSE, CCVP, VCP
"Design simplicity cures engineered complexity"
Comment on not another Industrial Blog
Check out 2 minute Ignition Intro - rethinking SCADA for modern manufacturing
0

#6
User is offline   robh 

  • Fishin Machine
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 374
  • Joined: 29-November 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oregon
  • Country:United States
    United States
Thanks for the tips! :-D
Computers have enabled people to make more mistakes faster than almost any invention in history, with the possible exception of tequila and hand guns.
0

#7
User is offline   pandersen 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 107
  • Joined: 27-November 07
  • Country:United States
    United States

View Postrobh, on Oct 22 2008, 10:22 AM, said:

Thanks for the tips! :-)


It may not matter, but once we get Vista support from Rockwell it should work on the 64-bit version fine. Vista's 32-bit emulation is on a completely different level than XP-64's.
0

#8
User is offline   Nathan 

  • Curious Tinkerer
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 512
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Naples, Italy
  • Interests:Geeky things, skiing/snowboarding, waterskiing/wakeboarding, motorcycles. Boxing, Judo, PLCs, HMIs, networking, databases, etc...
  • Country:Korea - South
    Korea - South
Where's this coming from? Curious, not skeptical.

View Postpandersen, on Oct 24 2008, 12:10 PM, said:

It may not matter, but once we get Vista support from Rockwell it should work on the 64-bit version fine. Vista's 32-bit emulation is on a completely different level than XP-64's.

Nathan Boeger, CISSP-ISSAP, MCSE, CCVP, VCP
"Design simplicity cures engineered complexity"
Comment on not another Industrial Blog
Check out 2 minute Ignition Intro - rethinking SCADA for modern manufacturing
0

#9
User is offline   pandersen 

  • Sparky
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 107
  • Joined: 27-November 07
  • Country:United States
    United States

View PostNathan, on Oct 25 2008, 04:23 AM, said:

Where's this coming from? Curious, not skeptical.

Whoops, looks like my memory was foggy. The article I thought I got that from was talking about drivers for 64-bit versions of Vista.

Anyway, the 32-bit emulation stuff is called WOW64. Wikipedia has an article here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WOW64
0

#10
User is offline   Nathan 

  • Curious Tinkerer
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: MrPLC Member
  • Posts: 512
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Naples, Italy
  • Interests:Geeky things, skiing/snowboarding, waterskiing/wakeboarding, motorcycles. Boxing, Judo, PLCs, HMIs, networking, databases, etc...
  • Country:Korea - South
    Korea - South
Thanks for that. Interesting stuff - looks like the old NTVDM on crack!

View Postpandersen, on Oct 27 2008, 04:33 PM, said:

Anyway, the 32-bit emulation stuff is called WOW64. Wikipedia has an article here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WOW64

Nathan Boeger, CISSP-ISSAP, MCSE, CCVP, VCP
"Design simplicity cures engineered complexity"
Comment on not another Industrial Blog
Check out 2 minute Ignition Intro - rethinking SCADA for modern manufacturing
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users