Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
CMx

PVP and Modbus RTU Serial

4 posts in this topic

Currently we have a G&L (Giddings and Lewis) Pic 900 PLC that partly is communicating with Parker Automation CTC operator terminals through Modbus over serial. We are currently wanting to replace these CTC screens with Allen Bradley Panelview Plus 700's with ME station version 6.04.16 and KEPWare version 5.3.320 installed. I have been through the MachineShop Interact software that was used to design the CTC screens and have applied all of the settings in FactoryTalk View Studio. I am really new to Modbus so I have no clue about the messaging and tagging protocol and I have a bald spot and a headache after reading for about 10 hours with no better understanding. This is what I have seen so far and dont understand: The Interact tags look like this: Tagname Address: @BIT2 @BIT3 @BIT4 @BIT etc.. Address Reference: MBUS\1$00003 MBUS\1$00004 MBUS\1$00005 MBUS\1$ etc... The KEPWare tags look like this: Tagname Address: @BIT2 @BIT3 @BIT4 @BIT etc... Address Reference: 000003 000004 000005 00 etc... I think this may be where my problem lies. Everything I have found from AB is outdated. It shows where you have to load the KEPWare drivers by firmware upgrading the PVP but the version they are speaking of is 3.0 and such. This PVP has version 6.0 and seems to have the KEPWare drivers installed. Some of the errors I see when running the application are: [FactoryTalk]: The Item is no longer available: HHT1UW1.G&L.@BIT1 (Basically all of the tags) Unable to load project \Windows\Kepware\KEPServerEnterprise\V5\default.pfe The Modbus RTU Serial device driver was not found or could not be loaded. The other thing that I have noticed between KEPWare 4 and 5 is that in version 5 there is no option for selecting the default project for FactoryTalk like there is in V4. The last 2 I did not get until I changed the server in FactoryTalk project from KEPServer V4 to V5. The PVP says it has version 5.3