Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
trummjo

Newbie questions about Panelview Plus and Logix5000

11 posts in this topic

So I've had enough experience with the logix5000 platform to be dangerous, but I'm not a pro yet... And I'm having trouble interfacing a logix5000 controller through my enbt card to the Panelview Plus 500... I've created a program for the panelview plus, and for the controller and downloaded them both, but I'm not quite sure how to get them to talk to each other. I've been trying to dig around for some answers in the forums but havn't come up with anything thus far. Can anyone help me either find some tutorials/info on the forums, or point me to some AB guides on this subject? Second part of my problems is that I'm trying to interface the controller with a Festo block for pneumatic control (through enet). I can communicate with the block, and I can go in and physically change the bits and get them to move, but I'm not able to write the bits from the program with ladder logic. Whats the best way to write bool bits in ladder logic? It seems like a pretty simple process, and I've had success with similar projects before, but this is kinda tricky. I can provide source code if this will help.

First you need to make sure that the addressing scheme you are using is correct and that the panelview and PLC are on the same network. The masks need to be the same. In the left hand column rslinx enterprise tab you need to configure the comms of the panelview. You need to set up the path to the processor, and do not forget to copy that config to the runtime. Make sure your PC does not have the same ip as your hardware. Boot the screen and during startup push the lit square in the bottom left corner. Go into the settings and manually configure the IP address and mask.