Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
wildswing

Need help with Point I/O setup on ControlNet

4 posts in this topic

Hey fellas, This is my first time working with Point IO and I've run into a snag. It's an OEM setup, so while I wait for their techs to get back to me I figured I try to find out for myself. The project I'm working on is supposed to be "plug & play" (at least the IO side of it). The OEM shipped us an IO cabinet with everything we're supposed to need. We're building the controls, a CLX rack. I spec'd ControlNet. The CLX will have a CNB/A. The IO cabinet includes: 1734 ACNR ControlNet Adapter to which is connected, in this order: 10 IE8C 8ch analog output modulesEP24VDC power supply6 IE8C 8ch analog output modulesEP24VDC power supply12 OE4C 4ch analog input modulesEP24VDC power supply6 IB8 8pt discrete input modules4 OB8 8pt discrete output modulesEP24VDC power supplyPoint IO extension cable22 OEM specific air valves (in groups of 4,4,2,4,4,4) in a custom Point IO chassisI created my IO config offline but I get this error message when I try to download to the processor... Error: MyCnetAdapter: The number of connections configured for this module has exceeded the limit. I then removed modules one by one started at the air valve end. I have to delete 5 of the 6 air valve modules before I can download. I try to schedule, but cannot get all of the modules happy. Lots of yellow warnings. So after doing some digging I see there's limits to how many "connections" the ACNR can have. Analog modules use 1 connection each. I have the ACNR set up with Rack Optimization, as I understand this helps minimize connections for the discrete IO. I assume the answer will be to add another ACNR node (or two), right? What would be the best way to divide this up? Is the limit of 25 connections a reliable limit to how many modules can be on one node, or is it best practice to limit to something less than that? .TXT file attached is renamed RSL5000 .L5K file. I'm running on an L