Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
JP72

Best Way to Get ControlLogix Credentials

6 posts in this topic

Hello, Thanks to those who answered my question regarding setting up a trainer system. This message opens the discussion a little wider. I searched the forums and saw some similar discussions that gave me some ideas, but I didn't quite get the answer to my question. First a little background, because context is important for the question below: I'm a recently unemployed mechanical engineer with a manufacturing background and a good bit of troubleshooting experience. Unfortunately, the equipment I've dealt with has been mostly PC controlled, so my exposure to PLCs has been limited. Many jobs that I'm applying for require PLC experience, and A-B ControlLogix seems to be the most common requirement. What I'm doing to strenghthen my general PLC background: 1) Reading Hugh Jack's book 2) Watching Ron Beaufort's videos on YouTube 3) Setup a meeting with the PLC instructor at the community college (Richmond, VA) to see if I can use his SLC500 hardware to practice with. I'll probably take the class this summer. My goal is to have sufficient A-B ControlLogix credentials to: 1) Get past the initial screening and into the interview 2) Be able to convice the interviewer that I can immediately be productive with ControlLogix 3) Be able to succeed once I get the job - I do not envision a job as a PLC programmer, but as an equipment or process owner, troubleshooter, and code modifier. Programming from scratch would probably be rare. Now the question: What is the best way to achieve my goal stated above? I am considering two options, but maybe you know of more: 1) Take 4 courses from Rockwell that will get me a "ControlLogix Programming Certificate" 2) Take Ron Beaufort's troubleshooting & programming courses Thanks for your suggestions!