Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
evol

PLC Vs. autotuning PID controller

4 posts in this topic

I am working on a project for an internship. I more or less inherited this project from the previous intern and well... I think that for what is desired he was reinventing the wheel. My employer wants to upgrade the controls on a reflow oven that will give the ability to store multiple recipes, programs or whatever you would like to call them. I was thinking of replacing the existing PID controller with a programable autotuning PID controller. The intern prior to me had them buy a micrologox plc, a panel view 550, various cables, and various expansions modules..... (i.e. spent alot of money in my eyes) any thoughts? I am new to PLC's and the like and I have been doing my homework on it but I wanted to get maybe someones opinion whos experienced in this before I go to my boss and say " I think the company wasted alot of money for nothing on this project and it is going in the wrong direction." I also do not feel comfortable w/ a project that is, from what I see going down the wrong path. Ideas?

I think you have a good idea. Now what controller are you going to get and how are you going to connect it to the computer with the recipes? Are there controllers that can store the recipes? I didn't look.