Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Datman

DDE question

10 posts in this topic

Hi guys Im new to the whole DDE thing, just after a bit of advice. I am using a Micrologix 1100, am wanting to use DDE to access data so i can show basic PLC I/O on my VB application. I am also using RSLinx Classic as the DDE server. So far I have had a bit of a play and i can successfully read data into text boxes on my application using the following commands: txtIO.LinkTopic = "RSLinx|BOARD COUNTER" txtIO.LinkItem = "O:0/1,L1,C1" txtIO.LinkMode = 2 txtIO.LinkRequest txtIO.LinkMode = 0 and so output 0:0/1 is displayed in my text box 'txtIO'. Happy days, works fine. My question is thus, do i have to open the DDE topic every time i want to look at data... I cannot just leave the DDE link open, for a 'polling' type operation? Ideally what I want to happen is that when an input to the plc becomes true, I trigger the VB application and do my data transfer, then do nothing until the next time the PLC input is true, transfer more data etc... Sounds simple and probably is, but im just unsure of how i can set it up to do this. Thanks for any help, hope it makes sense!

Yes you can leave it open but it will tie up a connection and bandwidth. Change your link mode to 1. I am going off of memory but that should do it

cool just as i thought, thanks. luckily bandwidth is not such an issue, only a small application. My next question is, I want to write a function that will write a value to an integer in the PLC at the moment i have: Public Function WriteInteger(data As String, address As String) DDEPoke RSIchan, address, data End Function where data is the value, and address is the item eg N7:0, being passed from another function. However it does not work. Is my syntax in the DDE statement wrong, or is it not possible? RSIchan is already set up as the DDE link and initiated in a previous routine ( nd the link left open)