Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Ben

Datalogging from Omron PLC to PC

6 posts in this topic

Hello, I want to transfer some data from PLC to PC (one to one), event based or time based. The purpose is not machine control but datalogging and viewing only. Front end could be VB (6 or Net) and client is asking for MySQL as backend. I have the CS1-CPU63 connected on Ethernet via ETN21 and PC will also be included on the same network. What is the best option (software) for this? I know a few like In-Gear OPC server, Omron CX-server lite (Activex) or OPC. But I have never done it before so asking for advice from guys who already have used them.

I would also extend my search to include a low point count SCADA package. At least the HMI coding could be easier the VB applicaiton.

hi ben, i do something similar in one aplication. I store process variables in a memory card (cj1m cpu12), and download the files via ftp. I use the cx-opc server too, i read data from seeral plcs (temperature, pressure, ...) for visualization in a scada (with labview). For your aplication, perhaps with the opc-server and the file manipulation facilities of vb you don't need a memory card, if data is not critical (if pc don't work). take in consideration that the opc server can be not fast enought