Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
jmalter

Logix5000 Analog scaling and alarming

19 posts in this topic

I'm developing some standards for some of our projects and I'd like some feedback on recommendations and ideas. I'm somewhat new to Logix but have a lot of experience with 5's and SLC's. It was suggested, for analog inputs, to scale on the card to engineering units. What are the advantages/disadvantages? It looks pretty straight forward but I seem to recall some limitatiions. There are many ways to handle analog alarming including ladder, function block, and at the HMI. I plan to make the PLC routine generic therefore requiring Low, Low Low, High, High High alarming and the ability to enable/disable the point. The function block item appears workable but we have to consider conditional alarms; such as ignore low suction pressure until the pump has ran for 5 seconds. I'm not sure how to handle these types of conditions with the function blocks. I'm intersted to hear what the PLC experts out there think. regards, Joe

Heres what i normally use. It has built in bypass timer, debounce timers, latching, etc. It also allows different raw max/min if u use different cards ie 1756-IF8 vs 1794-???. There is also an example of firstout logic as well, although i dont know what u need for alarming on your project Test_Buffer.ACD Edited by Ghettofreeryder

Thanks for the example program. I like the use of subroutines and gerneral program structure. I have a few comments/questions: 1. Don't you have problems using timers in subroutines? It seems like the timers would not work independantly for each run through the subroutine. 2. I'm not crazy about the negative logic used is comparing the PV to the setpoints. It's less intuitive but works. Did you need to do this for a reason?