Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Chris Elston

1734-232asc Devicenet And Slc5/03 Btye Swap Ascii

3 posts in this topic

I've never used these point I/O modules before. I've been having really good luck with inputs/ouputs and analog output modules. No issues so far. I got one of these 1734-232ASC modules. It's an RS-232 port that pops on your device net. I've had no issues getting it configured on device net, and I've mapped all the data to M-File in the processor. My question is about BTYE Swap. When I copied the data from M-Files to an ASCII file A17:0 then finally a ST18:0 file, my data looks swapped. I have a terminal window open connected to COM4, an when I type "1234", I see the data arrive when I am monitoring the 232ASC in RSNetworks as "1234", but when the data arrives in the M-FILE, it appears swapped like "2143". So what I did was enable this setting Btye-Swap in the 232ASC module, downloaded the config, and now when I send "1234" in RsNetwork is shows up as "2143", but then in the M-FILES it's a string mess, but I am able to extract the string out to ST18:1 as "1234" ASCII. It appears to work, but I was wondering if that is normal to have to do this. What exactly is "Btye-Swap" doing in this 232ASC module? There are no whitepapers in AB KB on this module and a SLC 5/03. There is a whitepaper using a CLX and RS5000. Can anyone confirm what I have found is ok, and what exactly is btye swap. Maybe I shouldn't ask why, when it seems to be working, but I like to have a better understanding of what exactly is going on. -