Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Filter

Ab Slc 5/04

17 posts in this topic

I am a beginner and have no idea how to program a plc yet so please bear with me. We have a machine which use an Allen Bradley SLC 5/04 (1747-L542) Processor unit. I was having some issues with a couple of solenoids, so I was checking the wiring to make sure every thing was tight and connected when I accedentially pulled the Power Supply unit (1747-P2) out which cut the power to the processor and I/O's. Natural reaction was to push it back in and when I did I started getting a fault light on the processor blinking at me. I have tried to reset the processor by turning the key, to no avail. I have talked to AB tech and they said that I may have lost the program, and to get into the processor to see what the fault is. Problem is we do not have the Logix500 software, I do have the LinxLite to connect which it does. What can I do to find out what is causing the fault light so I can atleast know what I am up against? Thank you for your time My direct email address is ryan@heparrest.com

Sounds like AB have hit your problem on the head, it is likely the program has been wiped, you need to get a tech in to sort out your system... Hope you have a backup copy of the code!

I hope I'm not being overly optimistic, but I would like to believe that simply removing power from the rack wouldn't default the processor! I would put my money on the program still being there, but some minor fault condition exists that has to be cleared before you can go back into RUN mode. The bottom line is, as you've already figured out, if cycling power and/or flipping the keyswitch to program and back to run doesn't clear it, you'll need RSLogix. And like Snerkel said, hopefully you have a backup of the program!