Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
smil3y

16 Channel I/O via Scanner

9 posts in this topic

Hi I am relatively new to PLC programming but have managed to complete a few projects successfully. I am currently trying to get a 16 channel analog input module (1746-NI16I) to provide data back to the PLC via a Scanner module (1747-SN) and Adapter (1747-ASB). I am using AB 1747-L553/B/C 5/05 CPU and am able to get the data back using either Channel 0-7 Write and Read Block transfers or Channel 8-15 Write and read block transfers. From this I am assuming I have the PLC configuration set up correctly - and I used this forum to obtain this information. I followed the link in one example to Rockwells Knowledge Base (G18685) to perform the individual channel checks and I then expanded that example to try and get all 16 channels back. For some reason it does not work. I have written the code so that only one block is performed at anyone time. I have attached my test code, can someone please check and see what I am doing wrong. Regards CARBOR3.RSS

Two comments: 1. Why not increase the requested word count to 16 instead of 8, and get all 16 channels at once? The SLC Block transfer instruction supports upto 64 words per transfer? 2. If you must keep the two BTR's, you need to change the buffer file on one of them, currently both have M1:4.200.