Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
simon Ong SK

PLC5

7 posts in this topic

Hi Guys: I'm new with AB. Can anyone help me to configure this? A PLC 5 communicate to a MicroLogix (Model???) which the Micro is going to read a external device with RS232 com protocol. 1) which Model of Micro and what PLC5 card should Add? 2) What command Do I need to use at PLC5 and Micro? 3) What is the differences between DH+ and DH485. 4) Someone suggested to add 1771-DB (Ascii card?) to PLC5. But the proble does AB Pbase (Basic Software) supported with XP? Please help to get the optimum solution. Thx and regards Simon

What model of PLC-5 are you using? Different models have different capibilities. Do you already have an existing control communication network? If so, which one?

Hmmm.. Let me break this down and see if I follow.. The micrologix needs to use its RS232 port to talk to some other device. The PLC-5 needs to talk to the micrologix. I'm asusming you can't just get by with passing a few discrete signals back and forth from the PLC-5 to the micro.. Like Ken said, we'll need to know which PLC-5 because some have RS232 ports built-in and some don't. Also we'll need to know what model micrologix (1000/1200/1500) and what the other device is that you're trying to talk to.