Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
arisigor

Will the robot move differently when it stops and resumes on its path to a target position?

8 posts in this topic

I'm new to Fanuc robots.

I have a simple program that does  J PR[R[162]] R[20:SPEED]% CNT R[23:BLEND] ;

I also have a digital output which whenever I set it to 1 kills the program and the robot stops. It does not fault the robot though. This is the desired behavior. So, whenever I rerun this program, with the same speed and blend values, the robot reaches the target position PR[R[162]]

My question is, is there any chance the robot will move differently when it stops on its way to the target position? I mean, let's assume that I don't stop the robot. The robot will move the joints in a certain way to reach the target position. Then if I move the robot to its original position and start the robot again, but now I stop it and then resume it, as described above, should it move the joints the same way?

My tests show that it moves the same path, but I just wanted to check with more experienced people here.

It has been a couple of years since I worked with a Fanuc Robot, but let me see if I can answer your question.

First a joint move doesn't move the tool along a path it moves each joint individually.

The joints are different size servo motors and when your program stops them they decelerate to a stop.

They then resume when you ask, so the relationship of each axis to the others will be slightly different than when you don't stop mid flight.

This could result in a different flight path for the tool.