ChrisKozanecki

What am I doing wrong?

11 posts in this topic

Ok, so this is my first time using RS232 communications, I have a CJ1G-CPU42H and I am trying to learn from the "CS/CJ series Instructions Reference Manual" how to use them before I throw them into a program. What I am having problems with though is getting it to do anything. I am starting with a basic program that is only 2 lines:                      _______ ----| |-------------| TXD   |     0.00            | D0001 |   (474F in memory twice. ASCII for GO GO)                     | D0000 |   (0000 in memory for No ES & No RS... MSB first)                     |  &4   |                     |_______|                      _______ ----| |-------------| RXD   |     P_On            | D0101 |                     | D0100 |                     |  &4   |                     |_______| I am trying to talk to a program written in VB that is used to verify communictaions with other things in the facility, and its set on COM2 9600,E,7,2 because I have the dip switch #5 set to ON (which if I understand correctly makes the PLC talk at this pattern) The cable I am using to go between the PC and the PLC is one made based on the drawing in a manual downloaded from oeiweb.omron.com. Hopefully I have given enough information and its just a simple mistake that I am missing. Edited by ChrisKozanecki

I think I would use #4 instead of &4. #4 tells you got 4 bits to send. D0001 is your send word. and d0000 should have either #0000 or #1000 depedningon whether you are sending it from peripheral port or the other port. Try using #. My $0.02.