adamscott1982

NX1P2 data exchange with another Omron PLC

11 posts in this topic

Hi gents,

I need to build up a communication between nx1p2 to another omron plc (any type with sql support).
This is due to the fact that I have finaly to prepare the plc communication with the sql database, and nx1p2 doesnt support this. 

Sorry, i know it's probably a noob question, but I'm a beginner.

What type of technology i shoud use to make this connection between NX1P2 and another Omron PLC? Or might be some share some project?

See if this can get you started...

1 person likes this

Your easiest options are socket services (raw data basically), Modbus TCP, FINS TCP (there are a few caveats here), or Ethernet/IP.

I highly recommend the Ethernet/IP route. IO_Rack posted some good info on this above. With both PLCs in the same project it will make setup fairly simple. I have an example project with an NX1P2 and an NX102 communicating that I stripped everything out of linked below. You'll want to look at the global variables for each PLC and the Ethernet/IP setup for each PLC (Tools -> Ethernet/IP Connection Settings).

NX1P2 and NX102 EIP.smc2

2 people like this

5 hours ago, photovoltaic said:

Your easiest options are socket services (raw data basically), Modbus TCP, FINS TCP (there are a few caveats here), or Ethernet/IP.

I highly recommend the Ethernet/IP route. IO_Rack posted some good info on this above. With both PLCs in the same project it will make setup fairly simple. I have an example project with an NX1P2 and an NX102 communicating that I stripped everything out of linked below. You'll want to look at the global variables for each PLC and the Ethernet/IP setup for each PLC (Tools -> Ethernet/IP Connection Settings).

NX1P2 and NX102 EIP.smc2