mere

asking for guidance

13 posts in this topic

hi everyone,

i'm new with plc here.. but i need to decide whether omron cp2e-n60dr-a performance is equivalent to cp1l-m40dr-a (my previous project used this type of plc).

can anyone here advice me what are the things that i need to confirm before choosing cp2e as my plc for new project (which is just same as the previous project).

You should be able to find the data sheets on any Omron website.  I see both at the US site here.

https://automation.omron.com/en/us/products/families/programmable-logic-controllers

CP2E is a newer family, and offers Ethernet.  Your original PLC was 40 I/O (hence the 40 in the part number) while the new one you mention is 60.  Was there a reason you need more I/O?

1 person likes this

Yeah i've gone through both datasheet for cp1l & cp2e. 

At the performance specification section, both look the same except at data memory (if i'm not mistaken) and some other specs which cp2e is actually lower. 

Well i'm no genius here, so can you teach me what's that means? Does that means cp2e cannot retrieve accurate data as accurate as cp1l? 

And yeah, i need that 60i/o as i need to add 8 extra safety sensors. Previous 40i/o cp1l only left with 2 spare input pins though. 

Thanks in advance. :-)

As far as your memory requirements, you can change the PLC type of your original program and perform a compile. You can check the memory usage from the View menu. It's only a matter of usage, not performance.

I'm not sure what level of safety you require but you should not be using safety sensors on standard PLC I/O.

1 person likes this

Can you elaborate on the section(s) you need clarified?