doublewai

CS1G-CPU43H connecting Kepserverex

7 posts in this topic

Hi

I'm currently working on connecting to Omron PLC CS1G-CPU43H via Kepserverex software. We're trying to read data values from PLC such as Total OK part counts, Total NG part counts, and machine running/stop.

I'm new to this field and need some help from you guys.

I was told that I needed CS1W-ETN21 ethernet module for back rack (I have two open slots).

* How do I install this module to PLC rack? Do I need to set up in CX-Programmer and CX-Integrator as well?

* Kepserverex software has FINS ethernet dirver for Omron. Is this for CS1W-ETN21 module?

* After connection has established, how do I read data from PLC via Kepserverex?

Thanks for readng

This video shows you how to setup the Omron CS1W-ETN21 (it is for a CJ PLC, but the setup is the same):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6lWspaNncP8

When it gets to the I/O table part, make sure to upload your I/O table and then add the ETN21 to the I/O table.  You could also do a create here, but if you have some non-default settings it would mess up your addressing, so upload it first, then continue following the video.

One thing to note is that you need to set the rotary dials for the unit # different than any other modules that have a green stripe on the top of the face of the module.  Then you need to set the node number to match the last octet of the IP address (for the simplest setup).  It is in hex, so if your IP Address was 192.168.0.50, then your node number would also need to be 50, which in hex is 32 (3 x 16 + 2 x 1 = 50).  

If there are other communication modules (green on the top of the face of the module), then you will have to create routing tables that define network numbers for each network (or add to the existing routing table).  This is probably a good idea to do even if this is the first network module.  

This is a great video that describes how to do the routing table:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kDYP-bUMzEg