SoraJayson

Can a PLC read another PLC data through router

8 posts in this topic

Good day everyone, before I start asking my question, just want to let you all know that my knowledge with PLC is not that good. I'm still learning on how to do it.

So currently I'm working on a project that trying to obtain data from Omron PLC. I was told that I can't touch the Omron PLC program or modify it. That Omron PLC is connected in an isolated network within a router. Other than adding Network Card on the device, can I use another PLC (any brands) to get the data from that Omron PLC through the router? The communication protocol using here is Ethernet. Can i just tapped into the network and take the data with that way?

Or the other method I'm thinking is that, the Omron PLC will feed the data to a server, can I just obtain that data from server by using OPCUA? I heard there's some PLC that have the OPCUA function, I just make my PLC into the cilent and request the data of that Omron PLC from server through Ethernet. Is this possible?

Please let me know whether my method works or not, thanks in advance guys!

Ethernet is not "one single protocol", it is a platform involving various type of hardware, media and many many protocols. 

yes some PLC support OPC, some support Ethernet/IP, some support ModbusTCP, or EtherCat or ProfiNet or PowerLink, TCP sockets etc.

One PLC can use same port in different ways. One port has limited resources such as number of connections it can handle.

just because port exists, it does not mean that one can open another connection.

Also Omron makes many PLCs...

so to even begin to think about your request, more info is needed (detailed info). 

Found this topic over in the general lounge and assuming that SoraJayson leaves some more information as to model and such , I felt the Omron Forum was better suited to answering his questions.