Pat-uk

Newbie using FX0s 3 motors forward then reverse

9 posts in this topic

Good Afternoon 

im a complete newbie when it comes to PLCs but have done plenty of PIC programming in the past.

I've been gifted a couple of FX0s 20mr units to try to repair something I made with PICs years ago. It got damaged during a move and I can’t see well enough now to make PCBs anymore so thought that this might be a solution.

The basic operation is 

1. switched on
2. motor A moves till hits limit switch (X000)

3. Wait 2 seconds

4. motor reverses till hits second limit switch (X001)

then once this has been completed then the following 

5. Motor B turns clockwise for 30 seconds then stops

And while Motor B is turning I need Motor C to turn until hitting limit switch (X002)

I then need to get it to repeat on the press of a button but I need to reverse operation of Motors B and C

I am using double position relays to drive the motors so motor A is on Y000 and Y001 if I power either relay the the motor turns in that direction. Same with Motor B and C Y002 to Y005

is this something that’s possible with one of these controllers or am i going to be programming a PIC to control the PLC ?

All the various COM and powers are connected up, I can individually make every motor do what I want, but the program doesn't flow from one item to the next. but this is probably just me

New Bitmap Image.jpg

Edited by Pat-uk
Added Drawing

PLC stands for programmable logic controller.  Of course you can do that if you write the program to do it.

Do you have the programming software and cable?  What software?

Mitsubishi has some free online classes on their websites for basic intro to ladder logic programming.  Ladder is pretty simple if you understand power flow schematics.

I have an old version of GX developer and the Cable,I was given the whole lot as a bundle, I have been able to make the motors run and reverse, but not progress through any program