DUR

How can I open a .rss file?

10 posts in this topic

Hello everyone guys; 

I’m new in this web page and it’s great. 
well, the thing is I’m trying to open a .rss file ( a company sent to me a project in rslogix500 to replace in a micrologix 1400 plc. But when I’m trying to open the project I can’t do that. I’m reading about versions and everything but how can I know the version that they used to create the project? Can anyone open my project and save for version 11.00 I have that version in my laptop.

Do you have RSLogix500? Version should not matter.

What software do you have? FYI the free version will only work with a ML1100 and a ML1000 program.

What kind of error are you getting when you try to open it?

Post the file here and someone can create a pdf file of the program for you.

Edited by Mickey

Hi Mickey thanks for your answer. 

I have RSlogix 500 v11.0 installed in my computer. When I received the project it seemed strange to me because the file appeared with a blank icon but with the ending .rss.abc. 

I compared the file with my other projects that I have in rslogix 500 and there’s a different type of file. The file with the one I have issues is type ABC (.abc) and my regular projects are RSLogix 500 Projoct file (.RSS) 

HMMM? Have you tried removing the .abc part?

Yeah that’s the first thing that I tried and when I trying to open the file RSlogix 500 it just open but I can’t see any project. 

how can I post the project here? Max total size here is 3.91MB 

The original name of the project was Scale rev 2.rss.abc and I renamed to scalerev2.rss and RSlogix opened and a message appeared on the screen ( File open failed-File corrupt or user does not have access rights to open project). 

I will contact the company that sent it to me.

I am trying to troubleshoot a machine and I was hoping someone would be able to print to pdf the ladder for me so I don't have to buy a full copy of RSLogix.

I have attached it with this post.

HMI.PBA

PLC.RSS