Olivier

PLC program uploading automation

6 posts in this topic

Hi,

In conception phase we currently use GXWorks to upload programs to PLC (L-Series).

In production mode, for different security reasons we would like to automate this transfer so that the operator does not access directly to the program. Do you know any tool allowing this by using command lines and not GXWorks UI ? (GXWorks does not seem to be "command line" friendly :shrug:

As a POC I  have automated the GXWorks UI in C#  (by simulating menu or buttons clicks) but I don't find it reliable (what if an unexpected popup "pops" ? ).

PS : I am a totally noob in this PLC world so maybe I missed stg in the docs ... 

Why don't you password potect the program. ?

You could also transfer the program via FTP.

OR put the program on an SD card at power up it will load from the SD card.

Hello,

First of all thank you for your suggestions !

Why don't I password protect the program ? Well ... because I thought to protect the PLC content but I did not think of protecting the source program at all. Thx ! After some tries it already helps me a lot. :-2

But that won't solve all my problems because I meet a vicious circle because actually I want my operator to be allowed to write on the PLC but not to read from it :

1. The operator gets the source program file from a file server
  2. The operator open the source program with GX (and thanks to your suggestion he can't read it : OK)
  3. The operator then write the program to PLC.
  4. The operator set the read/write PLC password(s) into the PLC (I didn't try yet but I don't think we can define a read password on the PLC before having downloading any program on it)
  5. The main point : how to prevent this operator from reading from the PLC and downloading it into a new GX file ?