Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
jfwoodland

Panelview 550 - Devicenet Vs. Dh485?

12 posts in this topic

Can anybody give me some input regarding their experiences with PV550s on a DeviceNet network with a Micrologix 1500/1769-SDN scanner (or similar)? I'm working on a multi-machine system with lots of digital I/O and three panelviews. The screens will mainly be used for machine fault display, single bit pushbutton operator inputs, multistate indicators, and some integer transfers for timer values, servo speeds and travels, and machine setup. I have been told by a colleague that the memory map can get very cryptic with this type of system and I might be better off considering a separate DH485 network for the PVs. I have lots of experience with DH485, and I agree that it might be easier for me in the short term. My AB rep, on the other hand, seems to be leaning toward recommending the DeviceNet option. My main concern is that I need to keep machine interconnections to a minimum, and would very much prefer to keep everything on one common network. I'm willing to deal with the learning curve that may be associated with using DeviceNet in this instance if the end result will be more desirable. so: Are the DeviceNet Panelviews a good choice for this system? What if I get hit by a truck? Will somebody else be able to figure out the "cryptic" communications? Are there any advantages to either choice other than "tag" nomenclature commonality (in DH485)? How do the DeviceNet Panelviews affect the speed/reliability of the network? Any other "gotchas" I should know about? Any input would be much appreciated.